How to Make Protein Bars for Food Sensitivities & Intolerances

Millions of Americans suffer from food sensitivities, intolerances, or allergies, making it challenging to find nutritious snack foods. Fortunately, at The Bar Shack, you can build your own protein bar tailored to your exact nutritional requirements. You now have full control over each of the ingredients in your bar.

Below are detailed instructions outlining how you can create a bar using only ingredients that work for your specific requirements.

The Base

When selecting the base for your protein bar, make note of the following:

If you have a sensitivity to dates: Choose ‘Soft & Nutty/Seed’Soylent Glop 2019 Protein Bar

If you have a sensitivity to honey or coconut nectar: Choose ‘Fiber Syrup’ as your sweetener option.

*If you do not have a sensitivity to dates, honey, or coconut nectar, you can choose any protein bar base.

Nut & Seed Butters

If you have an allergy or sensitivity to peanut butter or tree nuts, you will want to choose the sunflower seed butter in this section. If you are only allergic to specific tree nuts (almonds, hazelnut, pecans etc.), feel free to pick a nut butter that doesn’t cause you any issues.

Protein Powders & Flours

The most common allergens in this section are the whey protein powders, so stay away from those if you are sensitive or allergic to dairy. Brown rice protein and buckwheat flour are the two ‘safest’ bets when building an allergen-free bar.

Nuts & Seeds

No PeanutsUse your own discretion in this section. Seeds are always the ‘safest’ option. Make note that our facility does contain tree nuts, as well as peanuts. This means that it’s possible that different types of nuts have come in to contact with each other.

Dried Fruit

If you have a sensitivity to any of the fruit listed in this section, do not add them to your bar. Fruit is not a required option when making your bars.

Flavor & Texture Enhancers

Use your own discretion in this section, noting the following:

*Chocolate chips contain soy lecithin, which could be an issue for someone with severe soy allergies

*Oats may contain small traces of gluten, which could be an issue for someone with celiac disease.

Flavor Oils

If you have any severe allergies, we recommend adding only the following options or none at all:

  • Lemon extract
  • Lime extract
  • Orange extract
  • Mint extract

Boosters

Choose as you see fit with the exception of bee pollen. Bee pollen can cause issues in those allergic to bee stings.

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN ALLERGIES AND SENSITIVITIES?

An allergy triggers an immune system response. Sensitivities (intolerance) do not. It’s safe to make a bar for anyone with food intolerances or sensitivities, but may not be safe for those with severe allergies.

WHAT ARE THE MOST COMMON INTOLERANCES & ALLERGENS?

Although people can be allergic or sensitive to just about any food, here is a list of the most common culprits:

  • Peanuts
  • Tree nuts
  • Soy
  • Dairy
  • Sesame
  • Shellfish
  • Gluten

No Wheat

CAN I MAKE A BAR IF I HAVE A PEANUT ALLERGY?

Not if you have an anaphylactic allergy to peanuts. If on the other hand you only have a sensitivity or are looking for a bar that is school-friendly, making a peanut-free bar is not a problem.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *