The demand for paleo-friendly protein bars has risen dramatically over the last few years as the paleo diet has become more mainstream. Although there are quite a few paleo bars on the market, we are the only company that allows you to build a bar with your own ingredients.
In this post, we will show you the steps involved in creating your own customized paleo bar.
Choosing a Paleo Base
All three of the base options are paleo-friendly. The soft & nutty/seedy is the lowest sugar/highest fat option.
Nut & Seed Butters
All of the options with the exception of peanut butter (legume) in this section are paleo-friendly. Raw almond butter has the highest protein content and is the least processed of all of the options.
Protein Powders & Flours
You have a few options here, depending on how strict you adhere to the paleo diet ‘rules’.
100% paleo approved powders/flours:
- Egg white protein (most popular choice)
- Buckwheat flour (a seed that does not contain wheat)
- Coconut flour
Not 100% paleo approved powders/flours:
- Whey isolate
- Raw grass-fed whey
*Since whey is processed and comes from dairy, some consider it to be non-paleo-friendly.
The vegan protein options (organic brown rice protein/organic pea protein) are generally not considered paleo-friendly as one is a grain and the other is a legume.
Nuts, Seeds, Flavor Oils, Boosters
All of the ingredients in these four categories all conform to the paleo diet, so feel free to choose any you like.
Flavor & Texture Enhancers
The following ingredients in this section are considered paleo-friendly:
- Cacao Nibs
- Cocoa Butter
- Coconut Mana
- Coconut Oil
- Sea Salt
Paleo Bar Q&A
Now let’s take a look at answers to the most commonly asked questions our customers have about making a paleo nutrition bar…
WHAT MAKES A BAR PALEO-FRIENDLY?
A true paleo nutrition bar is minimally processed and contains no grains, dairy, therefore if you exclude these types of ingredients your bar is considered to conform to the paleo diet.
WHAT IS THE HIGHEST AMOUNT OF PROTEIN IN A PALEO BAR?
A 55g paleo bar with a ‘Soft & Nutte/Seedy’ base, raw almond butter, and egg white protein has 15g protein and 3g sugar.
IS WHEY PROTEIN PALEO-FRIENDLY?
Technically no, as it is derived from milk (dairy). That being said, many people on the paleo diet do consume it. It just comes down to personal preference and how strictly you are adhering to the diet.
WHICH INGREDIENTS SHOULD I AVOID?
In addition to the vegan protein powders mention earlier in this post, the following ingredients are not considered paleo-friendly and should not be added to your bar:
- Brown Rice Crisps (grain)
- Cocoa Rice Crisps (grain)
- Chocolate Chips (processed)
- Chocolate PB Cups (processed)
- Maple Sugar Flakes (processed)
- Marshmallows (processed)
- Oats (grain)
- Pea Protein Crisps (grain)
- Sprinkles (processed)
- White Chocolate (dairy)
IS BUCKWHEAT FLOUR PALEO?
Buckwheat flour is actually a seed and does not contain wheat, so it is paleo-friendly.
DO PALEO BARS HAVE TO HAVE NO SUGAR?
They don’t as the paleo diet allows fruit, but generally, you’ll find that paleo bars tend to be naturally low in sugar.
WHAT IS THE BEST PALEO BASE?
We recommend selecting ‘Soft & Nutty/Seedy’ with almond butter and egg white protein.
Do you have any questions about making a paleo bar that we didn’t answer? Do you have a great recipe you’d like to share? Please let us know by leaving a message in the comment section below!